About James Matthews

James Matthews as born in 1929 in District Six, Cape Town. He is a South African poet, writer and publisher. In 1976 he was detained by the apartheid government and was denied a passport for 23 years. In 1987 he was elected as patron of the Congress of South African writers... and he established the first black founded art gallery in SA. In 2000 he founded the publishing house Realities.

He has published several collections of poetry, short stories and a novel. Awards include the Woza Afrika Award, Kwaza Honours List, Freeman of Lehrte and Nienburg, Germany and the National Order of the democratic SA Government.

Woza Afrika Award (1978)
Kwaza Honours List - Black Arts Celebration, Chicago, U.S.A. (1979)
Freeman of Lehrte and Nienburg, Germany (1982).
National Order, South African government (2004)

Cry Rage (1972), Spro-Cas Publications
Black Voices Shout (1974)
Pass me a Meatball, Jones (1977)
No Time for Dreams (1977)
Poisoned Wells and Other Delights (1991)
Flames and Flowers (2000) Realities
Poems from a Prison Cell (2002), Realities
Age is a Beautiful Phase (2008), Realities

Short stories
The Park and other Stories (1983), Ravan Press

The Party is Over (1997) Kwela